March 12, 2016


Our learning program is directly based on the Early Years Learning Framework for Australia and the Victorian Early Years Learning and Developmental Framework.

The Framework includes practice principles and desired outcomes for children, families and educators to utilise to further every child’s development and learning.

We encourage children to participate in a variety of activities to extend and develop their knowledge and skills. The learning areas include language, mathematics, science, technology, social sciences, art, health and physical wellbeing.

Our quality program promote each child’s individual skills by focusing on their interests and strengths using portfolios to highlight the children’s strengths, interests, and learning dispositions.

Methods such as digital photographs, stories and observations are collated into each child’s individual portfolio. Our teachers support and guide each individual child to reach their full potential.

Victorian ELY/ELYD Framework

Children learn from birth and their learning and development at each stage of life forms the foundation for the next. During the period from birth to eight years, children experience more rapid brain development and acquire more skills and knowledge than in any other period in their lives.

By the time they enter school, children have already developed key communication, learning and thinking skills; learned to build and maintain relationships; and formed a strong sense of their own identity. These skills and knowledge are the foundation for learning at school, and for lifelong learning.

The Victorian Framework sets the highest expectations for every child.

It identifies five Early Years Learning and Development Outcomes for all children:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity
  • Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  • Children are confident and involved learners
  • Children are effective communicators.

The Victorian Framework describes each of these Outcomes for children from birth to eight years, linking the learning outcomes from the Early Years Learning Framework for Australia to the Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS) Levels 1 and 2. The Outcomes provide a shared language for all early childhood professionals and families to use when planning for children’s learning and development.

The link below provides you access to a PDF of the Framework.

Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework